Moroccan Trid

It’s interesting when you find yourself turning into your mother. For me, this manifests in how I put on face cream and reading recipe books in bed. I love it. And when I saw in Jamie magazine a new one called A Month in Marrakesh, I couldn’t wait to get it. Written by the Jamie magazine editor Andy Harris, and photography by David Loftus, I thought this was going to be pretty amazing. Have you seen David Loftus photography? It’s incredible. It makes everything look so damn tasty. I bet he does use PVC glue and steamed cotton wool.

Anyway, there are a few recipes in there that I couldn’t wait to try, two of which are exceedingly basic but to this day my most favourite meal apart from something home cooked by Mum – I had in the square in marrakesh, which, yes, is overrun with tourists and Brits who look a bit like lobsters in shorts, but the harrira and the egg and potato roll were divine. Take that low carb!!

So, as it happens, I am looking at the pictures in this book, and due to budgetary constraints, I don’t want to buy anything else from the Tesco cupboard. I want to use the chicken thighs that were a filthy £1.05, and along comes Trid. It looks boring. It read boring. But the taste – oh my life. It was divine – seriously!!! And so freaking cheap – proper cheap, not this £5 per serving rubbish. You could make this for a dinner party too, and it would be amazing, if you can stretch to buying fresh coriander then chop it up and strew it over – and it would positively sing.

A Month in Marrakesh from Amazon.co.uk

smell [5/5]: i feel like i could be in a middle eastern restaurant! Garlic, onion, ginger, cinnamon, so good.

taste [ 5/5]: Interesting, layered, deeply scented and lovely. The lentils meld into the spices, the chicken, if you bought proper chicken (and even if you didn’t, like me!) it is slow cooked so pretty easy to screw up, really.

easy [5/5]: yes, very easy.

hard: nothing. except maybe hard not to eat it all.

Recipe is on page 195 of A Month in Marrakesh.

Leave a Reply

